Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  41
Page 5 of 11 First ... 34567 ... Last

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi,
    I have found some of the nicest items I have made have come about from" just winging it" I love to take a pattern and make changes, or put two patterns together to make something completely different. And I love the idea of mixing up left over yarns and seeing how they turn out.

I belong to a local crochet group who makes granny lapghans to give to our local nursing homes. So I now have a good outlet for my leftovers. But I have 4 of them made at this time. I give one per month.

Happy stitching,
    Judi G

Quote Originally Posted by arlette1013 View Post
    Speaking of the ugly afghan I have made one. One day I looked at the box of yarn that I had been carrying around for 20 years and thought it had to go. I took all those partial skeins, rolled them into a ball and put them in a really large project bag. I then got out my knitting needles (I know this is a crochet page) and starting knitting stripeson the diagonal (you could crochet this way as well by just adding and additional stitch at the beginning of each row). Once you have reache the desired width (measure from the corner to the tip of your work) start decreasing one stitch each row. The first one I made like this I closed my eyes and pulled a ball of yarn from the bag, knitted till I reached the end of the ball and pulled another. The second one I laid out the balls in some semblence of color sequence. Yes, I had enough yarn to knit two scrappy afghans measuring 7' x 7' each without repeating a color in either afghan. And yet none of these balls of yarn was a whole skein. One I kept for me to wrap up in while I do more needle work. The other became a christmas present for my son in law to be.

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Arlette,

Sounds like you really made good use of your scraps. Scraps remind me of people--put together we are God's beautiful creation. Separately maybe not so much.