Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Post Thanks / Like

Question Help with pattern

Hello, this is my first post on the main forum as I'm new. I've been crocheting for a few years now and am not by any means an expert but I've always been able to figure out patterns and directions. This one has me stumped. I thought maybe I could run it by all of you to see if it's a problem with the pattern or if it's me.

Ok, here it is: It's a pattern for an amigurumi toy, a large spider. I'll type the instructions verbatim.
    Instructions: The head is worked in continuous rounds. Starting with the head and a G size hook ch. 9. Round 1: working in back ridge lps, sc in 2nd ch from hook and in each of next 6 ch, 3 sc in last ch, rotate to work in opposite side of beg ch, sc in next 6 ch, 2 sc in same ch as first sc, do not join, place marker in first st. move marker as work progresses - 18 sts.

No matter how many times I've tried to follow the above instructions I cannot wind up with 18 stitches. Also it seems that these instructions are for a tubular shape and I don't know how that translates into a head. Whenever I've done continuous rounds in the past I've always started with a ring.
    Can anyone help? I would surely appreciate it.

Thanks so much,
    Susan

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Skmk View Post
    Hello, this is my first post on the main forum as I'm new. I've been crocheting for a few years now and am not by any means an expert but I've always been able to figure out patterns and directions. This one has me stumped. I thought maybe I could run it by all of you to see if it's a problem with the pattern or if it's me.

Ok, here it is: It's a pattern for an amigurumi toy, a large spider. I'll type the instructions verbatim.