Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Post Thanks / Like

a crochet afghan/blanket w/3 Greek letters?

Hi Everyone,
    My niece wants me to crochet her a blanket/afghan with 3 Greek letters. I've never done something like this before. Would it be easier to crochet, embroider or slip stitch the letters? She wants the letters black and gold. She doesn't know what color for the blanket. Is there a written crochet pattern for this? or I could just pick what stitch I want to do and what color yarn and what size hook I want?
    Jean Marie

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Jean Marie,
    I looked at some grafts and charts on the Internet and the letters themselves do not look difficult to do. It would depend on if you wanted the letters in the middle of the blanket in different colors that would be a lot of yarn color changing. It might be easier to embroider the letters on.
    Spoula

Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks Spoula.

Those of you who have done military blankets, did you embroider the military symbol on it or did you crochet the military symbol?

This is for anyone to answer:Where on the blanket would I put the 3 Greek letters - on the top, middle, side, or bottom?

The 3 Greek letters she wants look like the word TIM with a sideways M and the T looks like a upside-down L.
    Last edited by Jean Marie; 03-28-2017 at 01:24 PM.

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Jean Marie, You Tube has a video on embroidering letters onto an afghan

You could also use a satin stitch or modified cross stitch. Moogly has instructions for crocheting the Greek letters to attach to your afghan Crochet Greek Alphabet, Part 1 - moogly . Hope this helps. Dafy

Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks Dafy.

Post Thanks / Like
    How would I make the blanket look professional?

Post Thanks / Like
    Define what you mean by professional.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by dafydil View Post
    Define what you mean by professional.
    Hi Daf,