Quote Originally Posted by rterakedis View Post
Hello, my name is Rebecca and I am from Ohio. Currently it is snowing AGAIN and yesterday was -10 degrees most of the day. Glad I have crocheting to keep me warm. I am excited to join this forum. I have so many questions... I used to crochet up a storm but life got in the way. Now I have a new grandbaby and have picked up my hooks again and have made several sweater sets for her and some new nephews. I have a list ten miles long of projects to try, but yarns have changed so much I am unsure which yarns to use. I consider myself an intermediate crocheter as I am mostly self taught, but am not afraid to try anything. My next project is a little sunhat and dress for my grand-daughter. She lives in the Atlanta area, so my idea was to use a yarn like "sugar and Cream" so her mommy and daddy could wet the hat on a really sticky day to cool her off. I am wondering if it will still hold its shape, or is it too rough for her little head. Should all yarns be softened in the dryer before using? Where can I learn about yarns and which yarn is best for which purpose. Does anyone use magnifiers for thread projects? My eyes are getting old.