Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  70
Page 2 of 4 First 1234 Last
    The town of West Chester, in Cincinnati, Ohio
    Post Thanks / Like
    You know gals, I've been crocheting for over 30 years and I have never heard the term FROGGING. I assume this means ripping out your work, due to a mistake??? Funny, how I never heard this term before! I guess I'm still learning!
    Hugs, Jo

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by dancingbaehr View Post
    You know gals, I've been crocheting for over 30 years and I have never heard the term FROGGING. I assume this means ripping out your work, due to a mistake??? Funny, how I never heard this term before! I guess I'm still learning!
    Hugs, Jo
    Found this for you:

"What does the term Frogging Mean?

In crochet as well as in knitting, the term “frogging” refers to pulling your yarn stitches out. Confused as to what frogs have to do with that? It’s because when we frog something made of yarn or thread, we “rip-it, rip-it” apart! (Get it? Rhymes with “ribbit?”)

Hence you’ll hear phrases about how many times someone had to “frog” a project to get it right, or how far someone got before they had to “frog it all.”

“Frogging” can also be used as a handy yarn world curse word of sorts too. As in the case of, “Well, ain’t that just froggin’ great…!” We could also carry that on to the variant “so sorry to hear that – how froggy that must be.”

Why yes, we are yarn geeks after all and we do experience frustrations from time to time in our work. Perhaps yarn art vernacular will evolve further someday and instead of something being totally “wicked” maybe we’ll say it’s “totally froggin’!”
    Annette

"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible."
    Dalai Lama

Post Thanks / Like