Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  9
    Post Thanks / Like

Teaching people to crochet

Hi Everyone

Just a little story. I am a dance teacher. Mostly ballet. I have assistants who help me in the larger classes. I like to give them a little gift from the heart each Christmas. I found a pretty easy slipper pattern and made each one of them a pair of slippers. I decorated them as their personality lead. Well they all loved the slippers....
    One of them, a 20 year old, Amy, just loved the slippers and came to me and said she would love to learn to crochet. So I promised I would teach her.

I just found it so heart warming that she would want to learn this craft. So last night, I had a special night at the dance studio and showed a video of the ballet Coppelia, since were are re-creating it this year in our annual revue. I brought a couple of balls of yarn and I had a spare H hook and gave them to Amy. Her face just lit up! I proceeded to teach her how to chain stitch before the video began and she diligently worked at it. During intermission, I started her on single crochet! Others on looked as she was working on her stitches... and were interested in what Amy was doing.

So I sent Amy home to practice her chain stitch and single crochet. I told her when she mastered these will go on to another stitch and most likely begin a scarf....

I hope she has found this craft that we all do as relaxing as we do and will enjoy it in years to come.
    Dance is the hidden language of the soul

http://otsegodance.com

Post Thanks / Like
    This is wonderful! It is so heart warming when someone wants to learn crochet! Thank you for sharing with us!

3. Likes Teri liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Teri how amazing of you to Teach 1 now maybe more?? Would liked to have watch the Video as Both Hubby & I watch Ballet
    on TV and have a few videos we bought. Love to see a Pic of You & your Class if able to? Understand. Thanks