Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  21
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Post Thanks / Like

Following Pattern

Hi! I am new to crocheting and am trying to crochet a baby blanket for a new grandchild. It starts out great but then I notice that one end is not even. It begins to slant. How does one keep the same size from one end to the other. This is very frustrating for me. It is an easy pattern, and I am okay with the stitches.

Post Thanks / Like
    I think it is very common for new crocheters to "miss" or "add" a stitch, especially at the end of the rows. When this happens, your next row will be off, and your blanket will start to have uneven edges. It's kind of a pain to count, but when you are first starting out, sometimes it's better to count your stitches, to be sure you have the correct number in a row.

As you become more accustomed to what the stitches look like on the end, you won't have to count.
    Annette

"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible."
    Dalai Lama

3. Likes Magnolia Blossom liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    My first thought too was wondering if you are missing a stitch. Usually this is a common challenge when crocheting. Hang in there - we would love to see your work when you are finished.

Post Thanks / Like
    I agree it sounds like you drop a stitch or so. here is a few suggestions to help you. I have been crocheting for many years and still do this.

1. use several stitch markers. I set a stitch marker about every 50 stitches as I crochet when I get to 50 stitches I look to see if my stitch is lined up with the marker and place a new marker there. if they don't line up you only have to worry about the last 50 stitches

2. place a stitch marker in your turning stitch. I hope I am saying this right if you are to chain 3 and turn and at the end you are to place a stitch in the 3rd chain that's what I mean by the turning stitch
    God will never put more on your plate then you can handle.
    http://pinterest.com/eva64