Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  11

Post Thanks / Like

why are my square sizes different?

I am currently crocheting squares (half-double crochet) in the hopes of joining them together to make an afghan. I decided I wanted an occasional different looking square so I made one of all shells and it was the right size. But when I tried doing the hdc as back loop only for texture, the squares shrank immeasurably! I don't understand how that could happen as the chains were the same size and length... any thoughts? I'm now thinking of finishing the number of blocks, arrange them as to color plots and frogging them and re-crocheting in single crochet, back loop only, into a multi-colored afghan. I'm getting really frustrated; my crochet hook is 5.5, I've watched videos on how to keep my stitches even and am watching all 24 of the Curtsy Crochet Hooks videos on crocheting. This is my first attempt at my own pattern and I want it to turn out nice but I'm thinking I'm a failure. any help? suggestions? should i frog them all and do a multicolor straight line afghan? It would be easier, I think... thanks for the help everyone.

2. Likes justplainjudy liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    well, if the squares where the right size then they shrank with the half double crochet...hmmm how's your tension? I ask this because maybe you have loose shell stitches but your half double's are tight? Dunno.....as for a failure you are NOT; making your own pattern work takes time....hugs

4. Likes justplainjudy, Val, crocheting4u65 liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    It could be a number of things. Tension is one. My other main guess would be that you used different yarn? I've noticed that Red Heart especially is notorious for having yarns that aren't exactly the same ply even though they claim to be on the labels. You may need to adjust hook size for different stitches also.

6. Likes justplainjudy, tawnyafletcher liked this post

Post Thanks / Like