Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  24
Page 1 of 5 123 ... Last

Post Thanks / Like

Counting Stitches

Hello, Everyone,
    I am new to crochet and have run into something. When I am crocheting a blanket imparticular, and I finish a row. I am finding that I have to count the stitches on that row and every row every time, as if I don't, somehow I get an increase which makes my blanket wide at the bottom and narrow at the top.
    Is that part of completing a crochet row-------------to have to count the stitches every time a row is completed to avoid increase from happening????!!
    Help is appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like
    Well, I am no expert and practically everyone on here has oodles more experience than I do. That said, what I have found to happen is that when my pieces either fan out or fluctuate in width, I am not being consistent with my tension. Crocheters can usually build their foundation row and go on to crochet in varying tension. So, if your tension isn't consistent, your piece will fan.

I hope this helps you!! And Welcome! I don't think we have met? I am Landon, I am glad to see you here! We get a LOT of crocheting done and have a great time along the way!

Happy Crafting,
    Landon

3. Likes angie22, Magnolia Blossom liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    Floro,
    When making a blanket, I have found you need to find out if the chain one, chain two or chain three are counted as the first stitch, if so I always if you are half double or double crocheting, always do two stitches at the beginning. Hope this helps.

5. Likes Landon liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    Landon, You are so right about the tension. I sometimes start crocheting when I am stressed and my tension is really tight and then as I keep crocheting, it loosens.

7. Likes Landon, Magnolia Blossom liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    Rocketlady has brought up an important point. Which crochet stitch are you making? Are your ends even?The ends of your rows, are they even?