Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  21
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Post Thanks / Like

Trying to learn to chain evenly...ughhh!!!

I spent quite a bit of money on everything I would need to learn to crochet. I signed up for two classes at Crafting Classes, Patterns & Inspiration | Craftsy: Learn It. Make It. and watched the beginner one and I am stuck on trying to make a simple chain that is loose enough to pull my hook through.

Crocheting is hard!!! I really want to learn, but I spent hours practicing the chain and I still don't have it down. I have been quilting since 1992, but wanted to change things up a bit. HELP!! Any tips??? Jeanne from NE Oregon

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello,

Welcome to the forums! At first, it was hard for me but now it is no problem. I just has to learn to hold my hands and hook right to do what I needed. Hang in there - you will do fine - just keep practicing and it will get better and better!

3. Likes GrammaJoe, Landon liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    hi welcome. trying going up on a bigger size hook or different thicknesses of yarn, but mostly it is practice we all started out slow.

5. Likes Landon, rosieh20 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    I always have the same problem. I use a bigger hook which helps a lot. I also learned to do the foundation chain, but I wouldn't even try that yet! Another good alternative is to finger crochet your chain! Or just keep practicing, but I would first go up a hook size like Trenarah suggested

Welcome to the Crochet Talk jccrow54!!
    Last edited by rosieh20; 01-24-2013 at 03:35 AM.

7. Likes Landon, Trenarah liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi, jcrow54 and Welcome!!

I am Landon, a newbie to crocheting myself.
    You are certainly in the right place to learn anything about crocheting.
    We have all ranges of experience here. You've been given some wonderful suggestions and please don't give up!!