Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Page 1 of 3 123 Last

Post Thanks / Like

Loom Knitting versus crochet

Hi everybody,
    So, I want to make a hat for my son for Christmas, and I don't know which way is better. Has anyone on here done loomknitting? I like the earflap hats, but I don't have much experience crocheting. Are they good for beginners?

Post Thanks / Like
    I'm not sure about loomknitting...I guess one needs experience as w/ anything else...crochet seems to be what I am most comfortable w/, so for me, it would be easier...howdie and welcome btw....I guess finding a begginer's pattern for a hat w/ flaps might work....

Post Thanks / Like
    I am new to loom knitting. I actually bought me a small loom from Hobby Lobby just a few weeks ago. I have made baby hat through crochet and it was really easy for me - I actually was surprised at how well I did! It did not take that long to do it this way. I looked at the instructions for the loom and I thought this looks like a foreign language - LOL I will have to look at some videos - I do better learning this way!

RenJac1301
    I have done loom knitting, i found it boring, so i got rid of my looms

Post Thanks / Like
    I loom knitted my first and only hat as a Christmas gift last year. It was beautiful and easy to make. I made it by viewing a tutorial on Youtube. This was done after being a crocheter of 10 months. Yes, I would say loom knitting this one hat was simpler than crocheting one. BTW, I need to get my looms out and make other items. But, I truly love crocheting more! Much success to you!

Post Thanks / Like
    So verrrrrry welcome Iheidrich!

Post Thanks / Like
    Well, I made the hat, I used a simple crochet pattern I found online. It turned out O.K., I should have stopped increasing sooner than I did, I ended up decreasing later. My son likes it, and now I have to make a hat for my husband lol. I'm going to look for another pattern for his.