Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  5
Page 1 of 3 123 Last
    Post Thanks / Like

Hellp with a pattern

I want to make an afaghan bigger than what the pattern calls for but I don't know how to figure what the beginning chain should be. Can anyone help me out with this? I appreciate your help.

Many thanks.
    Barby

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi, BarbySue!

What are the dimensions you want your afghan to be? What yarn do you want to use and what is it's gauge? I am new at this but it would seem to me that if, for example you want an afghan 6 ft by 6 ft you would start with the inches. 72 by 72 inches. Then if your gauge is 4 st an inch, you would multiply the stitches in your gauge times the total inches. That would be your foundation chain.

Does that make sense? Am I an target or am I missing something, fellow and experienced crocheters?

Someone will help you out, I just know it!!

Happy Crafting,
    Landon

Post Thanks / Like
    If you give us an photo or a link to the afghan you want to make, we could help steer you in the right direction!

Post Thanks / Like
    I want it 60 X 80 and my guage is 5 stitches per inch. I guess my problem is for the repeat pattern to come out ok I thought I needed to know an exact number to chain. It says to chain 179 and the finished size is 44 X 55 inches. That just seems really small to me.

Post Thanks / Like
    I tried to pull it up online but couldn't do it. So this is what the first row says...
    Row1: Ch 179, sc in 2nd ch from hook and in each of next 8 chs, *3 sc in next ch, sc in each of next 3 chs, sk next 2 chs, sc in each of next 3 chs, 3 sc in next ch, sc in each of next 9 chs**, sk next 2 chs, sc in each of next 9 chs, rep from * across, ending last rep at **, turn (180 sc). So to make this bigger don't I need an exact number to make my foundation chain? or am I totally loosing it?

Post Thanks / Like
    BarbySue,