Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Thread: thread sizes

Post Thanks / Like

thread sizes

I'm new at this part now I'm doing different projects.

what is the difference between size 10 thread and 10 oz. or size 4 and 4oz.?

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello Stacy! Unfortunately I do not know answer

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Stacy and welcome! Size 10 is how big around the thread is-you know how thick! 10 oz is the weight of the whole skein of yarn! The same with the size 4 and 4 ozs! Most patterns will tell you what thickness of yarn you need and how much yarn you will need, usually in ounces(oz). Hope that answers you question!

Post Thanks / Like
    Thank you Maryjane. I'm hoping this Skirt will turn out with size 10 thread.

Post Thanks / Like
    Can we help you with the pattern? If you post a picture, we will have an idea what it looks like!

Post Thanks / Like
    Yes, does the pattern call for size 10 thread?

Post Thanks / Like
    I've always wondered why they give sizes in ozs. Yards seem to help me more and I'm continually having to figure out yardage.
    Quote Originally Posted by Maryjane View Post
    Hi Stacy and welcome! Size 10 is how big around the thread is-you know how thick! 10 oz is the weight of the whole skein of yarn! The same with the size 4 and 4 ozs! Most patterns will tell you what thickness of yarn you need and how much yarn you will need, usually in ounces(oz). Hope that answers you question!

Post Thanks / Like
    Anaisa, No I does not, the pattern only tells you to purchase 18 balls of their Cotton floss and then how big it is going to be when done.

Post Thanks / Like
    Hmmm...cotton floss of a certain brand right? If you can google the name brand and see if it tells you what size; then you can compare prices; Auntie Lidia is usually reasonable....Wal-mart carries that brand too....but if you need 18 balls; Joann's and Micheals has a large skein that costs about 15 dollars....I use the 50% coupon for that.