Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Why....

Post Thanks / Like

Why....

Hi...can you help my figure out why my square filet motifs don't look quite like a square?

They are 25 by 25 squares...the sides are made of double crochet and the spaces are two chain space...they come out kinda rectangular instead....

My hubby told me to try and stretch it a bit and it did help a little...the only thing I can think of is that the design inside the motif is not symetric...like a round flower w/ every petal exactly the same...mine is a rose that looks great on graph paper but not so square once crocheted...

Any ideas? No I haven't played around w/ the pic thingy yet so I can't show what I am talking about...hope I explained it well enough..

Thanks

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello,

I am not experienced with filet crochet. It is one of the things on my list of to dos. Maybe when my kids are grown! LOL

I do know that with regular crochet, the tension of crocheting can make a difference. I am not sure if it is the same with filet? It could also be possible that the graphing or piece is off?

We will have other checking in and out, so you will probably hear from others who know more about filet crochet!

Post Thanks / Like
    Nope the graph isn't off....I wonder since a double crochet = 3 chain and my middle is two but then again that is one way to have a filet square.
    I will be paitent and wait.......lol

Post Thanks / Like
    I'm grasping at straws, but I think the dc and the ch 2 aren't the same size, so you're ending up with a rectangle! Whenever I start a new row of dc I ch 3, so I'm thinking a ch 3 would be the same size as a dc? Or is becoming a rectangle the other way- the width? I'm hoping somebody checks in that really knows the answer!!!

Post Thanks / Like