Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Post Thanks / Like

Help with cardigan pattern

Hi, I'm quite new to crochet and I've been stumped by the first step in this pattern:

ch 19, 20, 22, 24, 26, 29, 32, hdc in 2nd ch from hook, and across (18, 19, 21, 23, 25, 28, 31 total sts)

I just don't know what the list of numbers mean, what do you do after you've made a chain of 19?
    Last edited by annahlbrecht; 12-22-2017 at 02:47 PM. Reason: Solved!

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello annahbrecht, A group of numbers denotes the number of chains you will make depending on the size you need. Example chain 19 for a small size or chain 32 for extra large size. It would help if you state what you are making such as clothing or blankets etc.

Spoula

Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks! Sorry, I did put cardigan in the title of the thread but I'll make it clearer next time

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi annahlbrecht,
    Like Spoula said if you chain 19 you will get 18 hdc's because you are starting your first hdc in 2nd chain from hook. If you chain 20 you will get 19 hdc's across row. 22 chains you would get 21 hdc's across row and so forth. You sure it's not a sc in 2nd chain from hook?

Welcome to CrohetTalk.

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi, I think that's why the numbers in parentheses are one less than the Ch numbers - is that what you mean?

Post Thanks / Like
    Duh!, Sorry I missed that completely. I was reading the body of the post.

Please excuse my mistake.

Spoula

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by annahlbrecht View Post
    Hi, I think that's why the numbers in parentheses are one less than the Ch numbers - is that what you mean?
    Hi Anna,
    Yes that's what I mean.

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Spoula,
    I read the title of the post too and then after opening and reading the post I wondered too what she was crocheting so it's not just you and then I either read the post or I read the title again and I saw what she was crocheting.