Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  1
    Post Thanks / Like

im a beginner and i have a question

hello everybody i start the knitting in 2013 but with a blanket work i have a limit for the wideness of my blanket knitting and i want 150cm of wideness in my blanket so if my understanding is good with the crochet i have no limit about the wideness in my work ?
    Last edited by alexmtl; 06-12-2017 at 06:02 AM.

Post Thanks / Like
    also for the type of good stich for the economy of yarn and time for a big size of blanket im gonna us a 10mm needle
    @!£x

Post Thanks / Like
    #1 - No, there is no limit to the size of blanket you can make with crochet. However, as many could attest to, once the blanket starts to gain size, it can get pretty awkward to work with because of the bulkiness. I think that's why granny squares/module type blankets are popular, because you create the pieces and connect them at the last stage of making the blanket.

#2 - I don't tend to use large hooks, but a good stitch for economy of yarn would be a basic openwork stitch, such as dc in one st, *ch 1 (or 2), skip 1 (or 2) stitches, dc in the next stitch*; repeat * to * to end of row, ch 2, turn. This would give you a loose fabric and a lacy look, if that's what you're going for.

I hope this has helped you a little bit, and good luck! Please post photos to show us your progress. We'd love to see them!
    Last edited by Nova55; 06-16-2017 at 10:18 AM.

4. Likes MeToo! liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Nova55 View Post
    #2 - I don't tend to use large hooks, but a good stitch for economy of yarn would be a basic openwork stitch, such as dc in one st, ch 1 (or 2), skip 1 (or 2) stitches, dc in the next stitch. This would give you a loose fabric and a lacy look, if that's what you're going for.