Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1

Post Thanks / Like

Where is the "in the first stitch" located?

Hello, I am new to the CrochetTalk board, and a relatively new crocheter! I am working on a poncho pattern and it directs me to "skip the first stitch" then to begin the row. Is the first stitch
    the one where the turning chain is, or is the first stitch the stitch next to the turning chain?

Thank you for your help.
    Jackie

Post Thanks / Like
    The first stitch is the next one after the base of the chain. It is not the base of the chain. If it says skip the first stitch you'll skip the base of the chain (which doesn't count) and skip the next one, which is the first stitch.

Hope this helps!

Shelley

Post Thanks / Like
    Thank you for your response. I have more trouble with where to place my hook, than I do with actually making the stitch!

4. Likes robritt@hotmail.com liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    There are tons of YouTube videos for all levels of crochet. It might help you to see someone actually do it. It's just as important to know where your last stitch of the row is. If you don't get the right one, your project will end up slanted.

Shelley

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jackieh View Post
    Thank you for your response. I have more trouble with where to place my hook, than I do with actually making the stitch!
    Lots of beginners in here lately - that's great!! I have a blog, or you can do it yourself of course, but I've collected a LOT of info to teach crochet and help advanced users improve and learn mew techniques, methods and patterns to share. In answer to your question, I've posted a video at the bottom of the page for you that I might have one on my posts for beginner steps on how to start at the chain, learn all the basic stitches, then move on to intermediate and advanced work! But, it's not work, it's fun!!