Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  12
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Post Thanks / Like

Cool Help w/ Reading Patterns

I'm very new to crocheting and I feel like understanding patterns is super overwhelming. I have done some crocheting in the past (years ago) but only simple stitches as directed by my aunt or grandma. Wondering what the best way is to learn the terminology and stitches so I can eventually make something from a pattern? It seems that even the "beginner" patterns are too complicated! Any suggestions or advice is appreciated, thanks!

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello,

Here is one useful resource listed here on site that may be helpful: http://crochettalk.com/links-resourc...eviations.html

When I first began, I learn the very easy crochet stitches and found patterns which used the stitches to practice. Then, I started learning about other stitches and playing around with them. I also love to watch videos because I am a more visual person and learn better by seeing.

3. Likes catbalou liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    sarajean you are lucky to have Youtube to go to and you can learn stitches and techniques. If you have Skype I would be glad to sit down with you and show you stitches that you have questions about or to explain the pattern. I love Skype and I think it would be great for you to read the pattern and for me to explain it.

5. Likes N/A, crochet4fun, catbalou liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    That's a very kind offer! I have an intro class next week and then I'll let you know if I have questions and we can connect. Thanks so much!

Post Thanks / Like
    generally there is a box on the pattern that explains the abbreviations and in this day and age you can go online, type in the stitch you want to learn and follow it on a video.....much easier than when I had to learn.....luv learning new stuff now

8. Likes N/A, sarajean1229 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like