Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1

Thread: I’m stuck

Post Thanks / Like

I’m stuck

Hi! I wondered if any of you would be able to help me, I am new to crocheting but so far I have picked up everything really well, I’ve been teaching myself to read patterns and doing the basics etc. However I received a pattern for Christmas which I cannot for the life of me work out. It’s a little teddy, I have made a few teddies and I have completed the body etc except his head. I have tried this numerous times but I’m unsure how it’s meant to look as it looks completely wrong every time I try, i have worked out the first 2 instructions but I cannot work out the last. I will post the instructions below and if anyone could explain this to me or even post a photo of how it should look I will be so grateful!

- make 7ch, begin the next round in the 2nd ch from the hook
    - 5 dc, 3 dc in the last st continue around the bottom edge of the length of chain;
    - 4ch, 2dc in the first ch (place a piece of contrasting thread here as a marker) (14)

Tia x

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Tia,
    Welcome. The patterns is telling you to chain 7 and turn your work and starting in the 2nd chain from hook crochet 5 dc (1 dc in ea st) and 3 dc's in the last stitch for a total of 8 stitches. Now turn your work so you can crochet on the other side of the chain - so you're turning your work in a circle. Chain 4 and put 2 dc's in the 1st ch from hook and 1 dc in ea of the next 3 chains so you will have 5 dc's. You are going to crochet in the next 9 sts - 1 dc in ea st - from what I can figure out the 1st 2 sts of the 9 sts is the side of the dc you did, the 3rd st starts in the other side of the chain; continue with 1 dc across row ending with the last dc on the end of work (not the end of the row but 1 more st after that) You will have a total of 14 dc sts.

The ch 7 and 1 dc in ea of 5 chains and 3 dc in last st=8 dc's
    -100_6940-jpg