Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  2
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Thread: Pattern Help

Post Thanks / Like

Pattern Help

Hi. I am completely new to crocheting and decided to buy a magazine to get me started as it included the pattern, yarn and hook but I am stuck already after the first row!
    It’s a circular pattern so I had to chain for 34 and join into a ring. The next step says this but I just don’t understand - Rnd1: (1ch, 1dc) in next st, 1ch, 1dc in each st to end.
    Can anyone help please?

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi and Welcome Esmecat1
    Once you ch 34 and join into a ring or circle then you ch 1 and put 1 dc in the next st and then ch 1 and dc in the next st and do this all the way around. Keep doing a ch 1 and dc until you get back to the beginning of the rnd.

Post Thanks / Like
    Is it just me or should that start with a chain 3 after the joining?

Post Thanks / Like
    What are you making?

Post Thanks / Like
    Right now I am crocheting Tides of Change.
    I have over half of it done. After I finish I am going to use silicon on the back. It will make it non-slip.
    Going to use it as a rug.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Esmecat1 View Post
    Hi. I am completely new to crocheting and decided to buy a magazine to get me started as it included the pattern, yarn and hook but I am stuck already after the first row!
    It’s a circular pattern so I had to chain for 34 and join into a ring. The next step says this but I just don’t understand - Rnd1: (1ch, 1dc) in the next st, 1ch, 1dc in each st to end.
    Can anyone help please?
    Hello Esmecat1, After you join your 34 chains (ch1,1dc) in next stitch... 2 stitches in the same stitch

You do not have to chain3 as your first stitch is a chain 1 then one double crochet

then you do 1ch,1dc, in each stitch to the end. *that means you will be putting 2 stitches in each chain across which is 1ch,1dc)

At least this is how I understood the question.

Spoula