Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  9
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Thread: Pattern Help

Post Thanks / Like

Pattern Help

Hello,

I am new to crochet, still learning to read patterns and I’m confused as to what to do with round 9 as written below...

ROUND 6-8: 30 sc
    ROUND 9: In 24, [ 4 sc, 2 sc into next st] 6 times. 36 sts

I think first I sc 24 sts, but with only 6 sts remaining in the round I have no idea what I’m supposed to repeat 6 times...

If anyone could help I would be very grateful!!

Thank you!

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi kRi5,
    I don't know what In 24 is but if you just follow what is in the brackets 6 times you will get 36 sts.

3. Likes spoula liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    Yes, I thought that and the rest of the pattern increases in the usual way. It was the “in 24” bit that confused me. Also, 24 is not a yarn colour needed, I checked that too.... 🤷🏼*♀️

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello kEi5, I don't know if you still need help but here is my understanding on this pattern.
    In round 6 through 8 you will end up with 30 single crochets.
    When you start round 9 in order to finish the round with 36 stitches you will repeat what the instructions are in the brackets. So it will take 24 sc to do your repeat of (4dc, 2sc into next stitch) repeat this across the round to get your 36 sc.
    (4sc plus 2 sc in the same stitch then do the same in the next stitch until you reach the end of the round. 6 sc x 6 times is 36 sc you will have at the end of the round.
    In 24 meant you will repeat what is in the brackets to get 36 sc in 24 stitches.
    I hope this is clear if you still need help let me know.
    Spoula

6. Likes karenlatlas, missro007 liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    Thank you so much, that does make sense! 😁

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by spoula View Post
    Hello kEi5, I don't know if you still need help but here is my understanding on this pattern.