Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1

Post Thanks / Like

I need some help with a Granny square pattern.

I'm looking for help in understanding HOW to do this pattern.

Good and Evil Granny
    a crochet pattern
    by Danielle Day-Hines
    Notes:
    I use US terms and most of my abbreviations are standard and can be found here. Unique abbreviations will be noted.

Size: Using Light Worsted Weight and a G hook: 6.5″. Using Worsted weight and an H hook: 8″
    Feel free to check out my Color Change Tutorial and my tutorial for Weaving in Ends as you Go (Part 1).
    This pattern has been tested but I am still a beginner in formal pattern writing. Please, notify me of any mistakes or confusion and I will correct as soon as possible.
    Yarn and Colors: Most of my color placement was random and I used various balls of scrap yarn that had lost their labels. I did stick to one rule. I separated all of my colors in light colors, medium colors and dark colors. Dark colors made the shadows. I used the light colors in contrast to the dark colors. I used the medium colors to make the static center square design. I did make a few static squares using some of the light colors and it still works. I am currently using a mixture of medium hues to make a strip blanket and that’s working, too. The possibilities are endless and there are no rules. Changing colors, hues, arrangement, it all leads to something unique and you.
    For this pattern, I will be using 3 different colors to simply demonstrate where color changes should take place.
    You will be turning your work after EVERY round. This is very important.
    Special Stitches:
    ~ BegShell: SC, Ch1, 2DC
    ~ Shell: 3DC
    ~ CCC (Color Change Corner): With current color used, 2DC, YO, insert hook in same space, YO, draw up and loop, YO, pull through two loops on the hook, drop current color, YO with new color, pull through last two loops on hook, Ch1, Shell in same space with the new color.