Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  4

Post Thanks / Like

Confused over pattern stitches!

Hi, I'm Karen hate knitting but really getting it together with my crochet! Just really confused by a baby pattern I have just bought. It consists of both dbl tr (double treble) and tr (treble stitches) From what I can make out on the internet these stitches are the same! Can someone please tell me where I am going wrong?! The motif I have crocheted using treble crochet has come out much too big! Help, I'm not that experienced! I'm sure there must be a simple explanation - I'm just not getting it!!

Thanks in advance,

Karen

Post Thanks / Like

treble crochet in US terms/double treble in UK

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Kar. (DBL) Is a double trebble stitch you will wrap the yarn over your hook 3 times. A regular trebble stitch you wrap the yarn over your hook only twice.
    Below is a link that shows you how to do it.

https://www.wikihow.com/Double-Treble-Crochet-(DTR)

Hope this helps,
    Spoula
    Last edited by spoula; 07-24-2019 at 03:45 PM.

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Spoula,

This sounds so simple now, just saying it's 3 times yarn over! The videos are still confusing because they show the two different stitches with the same name! this is what I have found on youtube as well, which only added to my dilemma. Confusion between USA and UK terminology doesn't help either! Would you recommend me using a smaller hook ie: 3.5mm rather than a 4.5mm as the motif I have made is much too big. Thank you very much for the simple explanation. Very helpful. x

5. Likes spoula liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like