Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Post Thanks / Like

Newbie. Have never ever crochet. HELP please

Hi everyone!! I am totally new to crocheting. I was in a car accident which left me disabled. I have always wanted to learn to crochet so I thought this would be the perfect opportunity. I have so many questions. First of all, how do I know which needles I need to buy? What yarn to use? As you can see, I have a lot to learn. Any help and advise would be truly appreciated. Thank you!!

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi dfordmotherof2,
    Welcome. I would buy a crochet hook that is is one hook, not where the handle can come off like the wooden handled ones. I would get a crochet hook that is wider or thicker. One that you can grasp in your hand. The thicker it is the easier it will be to grasp in your hand. I wouldn't worry about what size hook to get. It doesn't really matter unless you want to follow a pattern. I would just get a hook and 4 ply yarn is probably the easiest to work with. I use mostly 4 ply yarn. Get whatever color or colors you want to and look on you tube on how to do the stitches or I think Barbara G.(the moderator) has some beginner videos.

You can Google a beginners crochet pattern and decide to make something and they'll tell you what size hook to use and you'll get better as you go along or you can just practice the stitches. And there are places on the computer that show you how to hold your hook.

something that might help you: single crochet: yarn through 2 loops
    double crochet: yarn through 2 loops twice triple crochet: yarn through 2 loops 3 times.
    Jean Marie

You may want to get 2-4 skeins of yarn to make sure you have enough yarn for your project or more yarn if you're crocheting a blanket. Get all the yarn you need at the same time so you have the same dye lot to finish your project.

Post Thanks / Like
    Welcome to the world of crocheting ��

I have a nice set of Boye medal crochet hooks that comes in a nice faux leather case.