Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  3

Post Thanks / Like

New to Crochettalk!

Good Morning! I am new to crocheting. About a year ago I made my first scarf and ever since I can't put my hook down after I get home from work. I am currently crocheting a baby blanket that has a wavy look. It is to be the sea and sky with sea critters and a sailboat and sun. I'm working on the wavy pattern and getting stuck. I think my problem is the DC DEC. It says "[dc dec in next 3 chs] twice". Well I look the dc dec on youtube and to me it looks like a dc dec takes up two chains or stitches. Can someone tell me how to do a dc dec in 3 chains or stitches?
    Thank you for your help!!
    Susie

2. Likes Susan2014, AudreyL liked this post

Post Thanks / Like
    Welcome to the forum. There are lots of how-to videos on Youtube.com. Here is a link for the double crochet decrease.

---HarriEtta

4. Likes Susan2014 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Adding a Link I got by going to Search Box

https://www.google.com/search?q=how+...h=536&dpr=1.13

Post Thanks / Like
    Thank you for the you tube! This is what I have been using as a dc dec. but you will see in my first post that each of the two dc dec are to use 3 chains or stitches. I don't know how to do that.

Post Thanks / Like
    Please attach a picture of your pattern. If I am understanding correctly, this is what you should do.

yarn over hook, insert hook in next chain, yarn over hook and pull through 2 loops (2 loops on your hook)
    yarn over hook, insert hook in next chain, yarn over hook and pull through 2 loops (3 loops on your hook)
    yarn over hook, insert hook in next chain, yarn over hook and pull through 2 loops (4 loops on your hook)
    yarn over hook and pull loop through all 4 loops. (You have now completed a double crochet decrease over 3 chains or stitches.)
    Last edited by crochetdiva; 05-14-2015 at 09:46 AM.
    ---HarriEtta

Post Thanks / Like