Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  0

Post Thanks / Like

Selling hand crocheted items

I am new at the selling game so could use some advise on how to go about pricing my crocheted items. Right now I am making flowers for a friend to be used as appliques. Should I price them individually or as a lot. I'm making 50 of them all different sizes.

Any help would be so much appreciated.

Thanks,
    Jandy

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello, I sell things at craft shows. What I do is both ways and give them a choice. I price them as each and also so many for a price. For example if I sell magnets, I would sell them at say .10 ea or 5 for .25. I also try to keep track of the yarn I use as well as other supplies. I always take the most expensive yarn price even if I buy it at a low price because when I replenish the yarn I might not find it at the price I paid for it the first time. I do it with other supplies too. Then I take the amount of yarn in the skein and divide it by the price (highest price not price you buy it at) and get price per yard. I do that with all my supplies. Then I keep track of how much i use then I take the price per yard or oz ( same with other supplies) then I multiply it by the amount I acutally used. Then I figure how much I want to make personally then add it on that is my price. Sometimes I have to go down some depending on the item and where I sell it. I try to price it so that people can afford it. But I try to at least get back what I put into it so that I can replenish what I use. I hope this helps you. I know people tend to do it differently but this is how i do it.

3. Thanks andreala thanked for this post

Post Thanks / Like
    Thank you. Any advise helps since I'm new at selling. I've been crocheting for years but have mostly just given my things as gifts.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Jandygh View Post