Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  1

Post Thanks / Like

Reading chart patterns

Hello crocheters,

I am a beginner crocheter, but I have already tackled on a few projects and my next one has proven impossible for me to read. A friend of mine has lended me her book and I have chosen to knit this collar, and even though I understand what each symbol means individually, I am not sure how everythig connects (see attached image). I am confused about the "end stitch" on both ends..which one is it? Also, after I chain the initial 31, what happens next? (I see an arch of more chain stitches going up row 1, but I am not sure how to knit this). Anyway help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!
    misssiss
    Attached Images Attached Images Reading chart patterns-00104-jpg Reading chart patterns-00103-jpg 

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello Mississ.
    First you chain 37 and you work a sc into the 9th ch from the hook.
    Then you *ch 3, sk 2 ch, dc in next ch, sk 2 ch, ch 3, sc in next ch; and rep from * till you end with
    a dc in the last ch.
    I've never seen the label "end stitch" in diagrams before, but I'm guessing the designer
    wants you to repeat the 6 sts patt rep across until you work the end stitch, then turn.
    On Row 2, the first and 3rd dc's in each group are worked into the ch3-sp, not into the actual
    chains themselves.
    Let me know if you need any more help.

3. Thanks misssiss thanked for this post
    The town of West Chester, in Cincinnati, Ohio
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hello Misssiss,
    Welcome to Crochet Talk. We're glad you have joined us and hope you find the help you need. I see Charles has already offered you some help. You are in very good hands there! I hope you will post a photo of your collar when you finish it. It looks like a very pretty pattern. Have fun looking around and meeting everyone. ~~ Hugs, Jo

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello,