Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Hello from NY

Post Thanks / Like

Hello from NY

Hello, my name is Laurie I am a widow and mom of 5. I am 44 yrs old and live in a tiny little town in NY, population 550 there are more cows than people here I have been crocheting since I was 10 yrs old. My husband passed away unexpectedly 3 yrs ago and crocheting has been a good way for me to cope with his death. I taught my 2 daughters to crochet last yr and they are "Hooked" too!
    Over the winter I have made 22 pairs or fingerless gloves, 12 hats, 8 pairs of slippers, 2 mobious infinity scarves, 4 regular scarves, 3 pairs of long mittens, 3 pairs of leg warmers, 2 twin size afghans, 2 cowls and 2 ponchos. I have 2 twin size blankets in the works right now, one is a chevron and the other is a v-stitch. I like to have more than 1 project going at a time just to mix it up a bit.
    My kids love wearing and showing off the things I make them. They have been my saving grace through this difficult time in our lives, I am a very blessed mom to have such great kids!
    I have been lurking around here and decided it was time to show myself lol. I enjoy all the posts and links from everyone!
    Have a great day!!!
    Laurie aka Gem

Post Thanks / Like
    Welcome to the forum! You will find comfort in this group! Where in NY do you live? I'M near Saratoga Springs.

Post Thanks / Like
    I am in the lower Hudson Valley in the Tri-State area a town called Unionville

Post Thanks / Like
    I have family near Poughkeepsi and I grew up there. Perhaps we could get together sometime. I am older 57 but it way work out anyway!

Post Thanks / Like
    That would be a lot of fun I am sure

Post Thanks / Like
    Gem,

Welcome to Crochet Talk! It is a pleasure to have you here! I hope you enjoy the group as much as I have! You are welcome to share here and take a look at the resources we have shared on site! :0)

Post Thanks / Like
    Hello Laurie aka Gem